Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Is it possible to have the worst lunch of your life and the best lunch of your life in the same day?  It is for me 😦

I attended a lunch meeting today, and being in true Texan style, there was a buffet of BBQ meats, baked beans, cole slaw, white bread and some peach cobbler of the mass-production variety.  When I got to the end of the line, the server asked me if I wanted sweet tea or lemonade.  I asked if they had any water (they did not), but what I really wanted to ask was if they were serving anything that resembled a vegetable today.

I really never like those picky, vegan, gluten-free people who always had to ask for a million substitutions wherever they ate, but C’mon, Texas!  Can I get a freakin’ vegetable?  So I decided to make something when I got home, and boy was it delish!

Sammich

Although it was in no way structurally sound, this Strawberry, Brie and Spinach sandwich was a perfect blend of flavors and textures.  I sliced some Ciabatta bread and cut up some spinach leaves, strawberries, and brie cheese (no rind), then I put it all in the oven for about 5-10 minutes on 350.  You could always toast the bread alone if you don’t like the idea of warm spinach, then put everything on top afterwards.

 

After the bread gets toasty and the cheese gets melty, just drizzle some balsamic vinegar on top, close the sandwich, lift, and eat.

Enjoy with La Croix

