Tags

, , , , ,

I had the best salad of my life the other day, and I really want to teach you how to make it!  You’ll notice that my husband and I rarely follow recipes, except when it comes to baking, so I’ll list the ingredients, but I’ll leave the amounts up to you and your personal tastes.

Ingredients

I used fresh spinach, cooked and cooled orzo, sun-dried tomatoes, kalamata olives and feta cheese for the salad ingredients.  That went into the big bowl.  For the dressing, I mixed together some olive oil, garlic, lemon juice, red wine vinegar and oregano in the small green bowl.  Then I simply poured the dressing onto the salad and gave it a toss.

Delish

Serve with extra feta, lemon slices and dressing.  Yum!!!

I could imagine making some kind of lemony chicken as a main course if this is too light of a meal for you.  It’s definitely not a man’s meal.  I’m sure my husband snuck out after dinner to the nearest QT to get something with hot sauce or vinegar on it.

Also, I’d like to share with you the joys of Amish land.  Every Christmas, Mike’s grandmother goes to Amish country somewhere in Ohio and loads up on goodies, and then sends them to Fort Worth!  Check out what we got!  You probably never knew the Amish sold this stuff 🙂

Jackpot!

Top row: instant potatoes, couscous, ginger snaps

Middle row: maple dip mix, meringue powder, pumpkin pie dip mix, banana chips

Bottom row: dehydrated marshmallows, dark chocolate-covered espresso beans, black pepper, cinnamon

They make lots of other good foods, but these are the most shippable.  Except for that other container of cinnamon that exploded in the package.  That’s why half of these are now in ziplock bags.  If you have an Amish community near you, they may have stores and restaurants with really good food.  You should check that out.  Maybe someday I’ll be the Amish lady who picks out all of the marshmallows from the Lucky Charms boxes.  For now, I’ll just be the girl who puts them all in a bowl and eats them with milk and a spoon 😦

